PetStore.com Pet Supplies Online
Customer Service: 1-888-9-WEBPETS (1-888-993-2738)
New Customer?
FREE Shipping on orders over $75!
Cart: 0 items
Subtotal: $
 | Checkout
View Cart
Home » Aquarium Supplies  » Filter Media  » Mechanical  »  AquaMaxx 200 Micron Filter Sock
AquaMaxx 200 Micron Filter Sock

AquaMaxx 200 Micron Filter Sock

Item #:
Please make a selection
Size:
Quantity:
$8.49 to $9.99

AquaMaxx 200 Micron Filter Sock Information




There are many kinds of filtration systems available for your aquarium, such as biological, mechanical, chemical, or combinations of the three. Mechanical filtration is very important, though, because it usually serves as the first step of a complete filtration process. During mechanical filtration, large particles and sediments of unwanted materials are removed from the water and collected in a container for later disposal.

For mechanical filtration, filter socks are often used as a barrier between particles and the water. They also serve as the container in which the particles are collected. Thus, they serve a dual purpose, so it`s important that you get only the good stuff, such as the Aquamaxx 4-Inch 200-Micron Filter Sock from Pet Store. Don`t let this filter sock`s size fool you! This small sock can catch really tiny particles, as tiny as 200 microns. It can also catch microorganisms and other organic matter. Take note that organic matter leads to the formation of ammonia, which leads to the growth of parasitic algae. Therefore, it`s necessary to remove unwanted organic matter on a regular basis, and only the Aquamaxx 4-Inch ring diameter 200-Micron Filter Sock can do that.

The removal of unwanted particles from the water does not just make the water clean, but it also prevents the pump from clogging up. Only water should pass through pumps - solids, no matter how small, can damage them. There`s no question that the Aquamaxx 4-Inch 200-Micron Filter Sock is a necessary accessory for your aquarium.

4" Ring Diameter; 10-11" approx. length.

Filter socks are the most convenient form of mechanical filtration. They remove excess food, detritus, organic waste, dust, and other particulates. Removing these particulates from the water column will reduce the amount of organic matter that produces ammonia and other undesirable substances in the aquarium. Filter socks also help prevent larger objects, such as sand, crabs, snails, etc. from damaging pump motors. Regular filter sock use will lower organic levels and result in CRYSTAL CLEAR WATER!

*NOTE: Please rinse all filter socks prior to first use




Manufacturer Info

AquaMaxx
AquaMaxx is a Southern California-based aquarium supply company that entered the market in mid-2008 with a line of affordable metal halide bulbs. The brand quickly gained recognition as word spread about the high quality and low cost of their lamps. In 2009, AquaMaxx released a line of aquarium filter socks and, in early 2010, unveiled an assortment of high-performance protein skimmer accessories and upgrades.

Warranty

AquaMaxx Limited Manufacturer Warranty
AquaMaxx will warrant all AquaMaxx products to be free from manufacturing defects for one year from the original purchase date when purchased through an authorized AquaMaxx retailer. This warranty does not cover any damages caused by misuse, neglect, alterations or improper handling/transport/maintenance/installation. AquaMaxx does not cover personal injury, personal loss, or other damages associated with the use of these products.



AquaMaxx 200 Micron Filter Sock Reviews



Average Rating
(27 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 3
Page


Reusable

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/19/2014 from FREMONT, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: It's not only a convenient form of filtration device but an excellent sock that filter everything and can be re-use for one more time.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




dude

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/11/2014 from DURHAM, NC UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Good quality - thing is HUGE, I will still use it but quality is top notch.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Good sock but

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/19/2014 from Plano, TX UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This sock is just as good of quality as others I've tried but the problem for me is the size I think... They clog up faster than the longer versions. Stepping down to the 100 micron could be a solution but I also suppose it depends on how much flow you have going through it and how much gunk in your tank. So for me I prefer the longer sock but over all I am a huge fan of filter socks as long as you change them out on a proper schedule. You will be amazed how much clearer your water will be the next day. I bought about 8 socks so I can change twice a week.. give a rinse and put in a pile to go to the washing machine(water only of course) every couple of weeks.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




AquaMaxx Filter Sock

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 12/12/2013 from SALT LAKE CITY, UT UNITED STAT
2.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This filter is actually made by Peco Facet. Upon receiving the sock, it appeared well made and sturdy. The filter is shorter than those I had used in the past and did not work well with my current system. Approximately 10" deep. The plastic ring was also a bit larger than those I had previously used which also didn't fit my system well. With regards to filtration it seemed to work ok. If you are looking for a filter sock that will also remove micro bubbles, this is not the sock for you. I am not sure if it needed to break in more but for the one day I ran it, it did not do well with air.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Micron Filter

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 12/10/2012 from ROLLING HILLS ESTATES, CA UNIT
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Snapped right in to my sump system does eveything I need it to.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Quality thick material

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/27/2012 from CA
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The AquaMaxx filter socks are of the highest quality and thickest material of any on the market. This is the brand manufactured by Puralator. Worth the price versus the super thin material brands. Only reason why this filter sock receives 4 1/2 stars vs 5 is that they are not a pre-rinsed ready to use sock -- they must be well rinsed before use.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Quality thick material

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/27/2012
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The AquaMaxx filter socks are of the highest quality and thickest material of any on the market. This is the brand manufactured by Puralator. Worth the price versus the super thin material brands. Only reason why this filter sock receives 4 1/2 stars vs 5 is that they are not a pre-rinsed ready to use sock -- they must be well rinsed before use.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great product!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/11/2012 from MECHANICSVILLE, VA UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I replaced my deep blue filter socks with these and what a difference. They must be twice as thick and really durable. Definitely an upgrade from the standard filter sock.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Good sock.

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 6/4/2012
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Thick walled, not paper thin like other 200 microns. Stands up well in the washing machine too.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Short Filter Sock

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 4/26/2012 from OGDEN, UT UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: This filter sock is shorter than the others I have purchased locally. Because of the reduced length, I am able to hang it in the sump and control where the inlet set. These are just what I have been looking for and they are 200 micron too.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 3
Page
AquaMaxx 200 Micron Filter Sock Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: AquaMaxx 200 Micron Filter Sock

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Petstore 14271 Corporate Drive Garden Grove, CA 92843 Telephone: 1-888-9-WEBPETS E-Mail: [email protected]
Follow us:
FaceBook Twitter Pinterest