Online Discount Pet Supplies & Toys For All Animals
1-714-361-6142
Buy today, ships today
Free shipping on orders over $75
40,000 pet products
Buy today,
ships today
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 2 pm EST (M-F) ship the same day! Learn More
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $75
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $75 ship FREE. Learn More
40,000 Pet Products
We carry over 40,000 pet-related products for every pet in your home. We stock all the popular products you’ll find in your local pet store, but sell them for less! See Specials
0
Your cart is currently empty.
Home » Aquarium Supplies  » Medications & Treatments  » Fungal & Bacterial  »  Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API MelaFix
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API MelaFix

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API MelaFix

Item #:
Please make a selection
Size:
Quantity:
$5.39 to $38.49

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API MelaFix Information




When it comes to taking care of your marine inhabitants, there will always come a time when they are exposed to certain situations where they can become injured or wounded. It is also inevitable for them to be sick with a common illness. Instead of going to a veterinarian for some ailments that you can easily treat at home, you should try the Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Melafix Pet Store. This is an effective solution, which has been invented by credible scientists, to give you the chance to minister to the less serious predicaments that your fishes may face. This is available in an eight-ounce bottle, which is good for several applications.

As mentioned before, this solution is meant to serve as an invisible bandage for the wounds and injuries, which your fish may get when they brush roughly against your decorations, etc. This can also relieve the discomfort and pain, which they will feel when they are down with tail rot, mouth fungus, and the like. It can minister to broken fins, allowing them to re-grow slowly but surely. This can be directly poured into the aquarium water without fear that it will pollute the water or affect its pH levels.

With the Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Melafix, you can easily attend to the more common ailments of your fish at home.

Heals open wounds & abrasions, treats fin and tail rot, eye cloud, mouth fungus and promotes regrowth of damaged fin rays & tissue. Will not adversely affect the biological filter, alter the pH, or discolor water. Safe for reef aquariums and live plants. For use in fresh or salt water.

Dosage: Add 1 teaspoonful for every 10 gallons of aquarium water.

Can MelaFix be used with other medications?
MelaFix has been tested and found compatible with Aquarium Pharmaceutical’s medications. Mixing other brands of medications is not recommended.

Is MelaFix harmful to aquatic plants?
MelaFix can be used in aquariums and ponds containing live plants.

Will MelaFix kill snails?
No.

Can I use MelaFix in aquariums containing freshwater crabs and shrimp?
Yes.

Will MelaFix hurt saltwater invertebrates?
No. MelaFix is reef-compatible. MelaFix has been shown to promote the healing of damaged coral tissue.

I have a protein skimmer. Will MelaFix cause foaming?
MelaFix will cause some increased foaming during the treatment. We recommend turning the skimmer down or off during treatment with MelaFix.

Do I have to remove the activated carbon from my filter when treating with MelaFix?
We suggest removing the carbon while treating with any medication.




Manufacturer Info

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Aquarium Supplies
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals (API) has been helping people take good care of ornamental fish for over 40 years. Their research and development scientists have advanced the care of fish with all-natural medications, stable bacteria for biological filtration, one-bottle test kits, consumer-friendly dosing caps and much more. They’ve received over 25 global patents for their breakthrough innovations in the aquatics industry. And they continue to look for ways to improve the fishkeeping experience for hobbyists. Research. Experience. Dedication to scientific, quality treatment for healthy fish. It’s what makes API the first choice of aquarium owners. API manufactures and sells hundreds of products across many different product categories, including aquarium and pond treatments, aquarium equipment, aquariums and fish nutrition.

Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API MelaFix Reviews



Average Rating
(12 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


MelaFix 64 oz

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/22/2012 from LAKE FOREST, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Great product, does the job.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




melafix report

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/13/2012 from PALM BAY, FL UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I use it to help heal my fish. Works fine.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Do NOT treat your display tank

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 5/11/2011 from Irvine, CA UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This stuff works, BUT I would not recommend treating your display tanks with it. 1) This stuff smells really strong. So the room will smell really, really bad for as long as you use it (7 days). 2) This stuff creates a lot of bubbles so you can't run the skimmer while using it. I lost one coral and one fish because of it. The coral died because the water quality deteriorated dramatically when using this. I used this 3 weeks ago and made two 30% water changes and I still can't run my skimmer. I even bought another skimmer and am trying that one right now. After 3 days break in the new skimmer also creates way too many bubbles. I will make another 30-50% water change this weekend and hopefully get rid of any remaining medication in the water. Other then that it really works. It did heal one of my fish who had cuts/infections. But I would higly recommend using a quarantine tank if you have one. I will not use this again on my display tank.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Worked Great

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/14/2010 from HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA UNITED ST
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I accidently purchased the large container of this, and I have a 35 gallon tank. Needless to say using 1/2 a teaspoon of extra strength, I'll be set for a couple decades! I had a case of Cotton Eye on one of my fish after 4 days dosing with this stuff it disapeared and it's been 1 month since I dosed and it has not come back.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




MelaFix

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 4/29/2009 from PUYALLUP, WA UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This product works great on fin and tail rot and wounds IF you catch it early. I love that it isn't harsh on my fish and doesn't destroy the cycle of my tanks.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Melafix/ Pimafix

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/18/2008 from NASHVILLE, IN UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I used both melafix and Pimafix together to treat velevt and cloudy eye on my 75g african cichlid tank. I lost one fish prior to treatment. After the first day of treatment,there was foaming and alot of cloudy water and definalty the fresh clean scent of Melaleuca throughout the house. My fish were QUITE unhappy about the treatment, BUT the velvet and cloudy eye improved within the first two treatments. We are on the 5th day now and I can tell you its 100% cleared up, my fish are adapting to the cloud and foam (picky little bugars) and we have had not one more loss of life.. This stuff works, and it doesnt destroy the bio you already have going in your filters - a major plus.


1 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Tail Rot

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/1/2008 from HARRISBURG, PA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Great product... Cured my Lemon Peel Angelfish's tail rot...I used half recomended dosage for 4 days and noticed improvemnet in 3... my inverts and coral were not affected....great product. Do as bottle instructs and turn off your protien skimmer.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




MelaFix

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/26/2008 from HOLLYWOOD, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This Stuff is the savor of my salt water tank Do not ues with corals Works and that that. i used it for 2 wks long Happy tank again me too :)


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Results in progress

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 1/1/2008 from OK
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I had/have a rather extreme case of fin rot on a rabbit fish. After about 4 treatments I can say its definitely not gotten any worse and I would like to believe that I'm seeing some re-growth. What I would add to that is that the tank water has filled the room with a delicious tea scent.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




great

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/27/2007 from ATHENS, GREECE
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: only this one is the best!!!!!!!


2 of 9 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API MelaFix Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Aquarium Pharmaceuticals® API MelaFix

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy © 1999-2014 PetStore.com. All rights reserved.