PetStore.com Pet Supplies Online
Customer Service: 1-888-9-WEBPETS (1-888-993-2738)
New Customer?
FREE Shipping on orders over $75!
Cart: 0 items
Subtotal: $
 | Checkout
View Cart
Home » Aquarium Supplies  » Controllers & Monitors  » Calibration Solutions & Accessories  »  Neptune Systems Energy Bar 8 Expansion Unit (EB8)
Neptune Systems Energy Bar 8 Expansion Unit (EB8)

Neptune Systems Energy Bar 8 Expansion Unit (EB8)

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
NS3391
Quantity:

Neptune Systems Energy Bar 8 Expansion Unit (EB8) Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

Neptune Systems EnergyBar 8

The EnergyBar 8 module features 8 independently controllable outlets. With power failure detection, active electrical current monitoring, and failsafe features make this power bar far better than any competing units.
  • 8 independently controllable 120V Outlets (Max 5 Amps, total current must be less than 15 Amps)
  • Plug and Play
  • Built-in 6 Port hub so that accessories can be easily added
  • Less than $20.00 per controllable outlet (Best in Industry)
  • Active electrical current monitoring and logging
  • Fail-safe features. On communication failures outlets revert to user settable default settings
  • High reliability direct wired connection to the Apex System(does not use X10)
  • Completely Silent Operation on 6 of the solid state switched outlets
  • Two of the outlets use mechanical relays for switching
  • "Soft-Start" for reduced pump wear
  • Up to 240 EB8s can be daisy chained together for up to 1920 switched outlets
  • All 8 outlets independently controllable
  • Built-in circuit breaker Protected
  • 4 Mounting Holes for easy installation
  • Compact custom aluminum enclosure (10.0" x 3.75" x 1.8")



Manufacturer Info

Neptune Systems Aquarium Supplies
Neptune Systems is one of the world’s leading manufacturers of aquarium controllers. The company was founded in 1995 for the purpose of developing affordable water quality monitoring and control instrumentation. Their engineering team has extensive expertise in computer hardware and software system design as well as a background in water quality analysis. Neptune Systems uses these finely-honed engineering skills to develop innovative monitoring and control solutions for use in reef and fresh water aquariums, aquaculture tanks, hydroponics systems and general laboratory use. Neptune Systems is best known for their AquaController line. The company is known for their innovation and customer centricity.
+ Display More

Neptune Systems Energy Bar 8 Expansion Unit (EB8) Reviews



Average Rating
(12 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Simple

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/24/2014 from EL CAJON, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I purchased an energy bar eight expansion unit and I had it hooked up in five minutes, very easy-to-use no issues! Love this.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Worked great for first week

by
Reviewers Rating Below Average


Posted: 2/16/2013 from MONTREAL, CANADA
2.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have three of these units - initially they were a breeze to set up and worked great. Every outlets was fully controllable. After the first week I moved my tank and had to reset all the programs and configurations. Now several of the outlets simply won't turn on, or if they do they don't provide nearly enough power to run the same equipment that ran fine earlier. So far no help from neptune systems customer service.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




cool

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/13/2012 from NORWICH, CT UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: I have 2 of these and it is great being able to now push one button and turn off multiple outlets so that I can feed. Instead of unplugging 5 plugs.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




EB8

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/2/2012 from WESTLAKE VILLAGE, CA UNITED ST
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: The Eb8 is a great replacement for all those space taking power strips. Each outlet is fully controllable through the apex, and the apex system with the EB8 is probably the single best purchase I've made for my 120 gallon reef tank. The controlle gives you piece of mind knowing if your chiller fails the apex will turn off your lights. Customer support from Neptune systems is the best customer support I've experienced from ANY company. Well worth the money for the system no more cheap unreliable power strips. I currently have (2) EB8's for my tank each outlet is fully controllable from my computer of iPhone!!


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great Item

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/15/2012 from BIRD ISLAND, MN UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I'm using this with my apex controller and it works great. I already have 2


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




superb product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/16/2012 from STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, CO UNITED S
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: As always Neptune has produced a good product here. aquabus, and removal of the dip switches are improvements for sure. Rock solid control over devices with a good power budget.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Very good, but has some flaws

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 11/4/2011 from TX UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Does just what you would expect it to do: it adds an additional 8 controllable outlets to your Neptune Apex system. The only caveat is that since there are only two mechanical outlets, and the remainder are solid state, you need to consider what type of equipment you will plug into each outlet. Some lower powered devices may not fully turn on or off if plugged into the solid state outlets. e.g. I had two small powerheads plugged into the solid state outlets and they never fully turned off when Apex showed that the outlets should have been off. Otherwise a great product!


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Go with the EB4

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 8/4/2011 from HINSDALE, IL UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Overall the Apex system is well made and reliable. The EB8 is however the weakest link in the Apex lineup. The problem lies in the six sold state switches. The issue varies between outlets and some devices will work on one plug but not others. The explanation I received from Neptune Systems is that devices with a poor power factor may not function properly. Unfortunately, the majority of the equipment I control with my apex system falls under the “poor power factor” category resulting in many outlets I cannot use reliably. The two mechanical relay outlets work perfectly and I have experienced none of the issues I have outlined above. It seems Neptune Systems is aware of this problem and their recently released EB4 uses only the mechanical relays. My recommendation is to stick with the EB4 since it comes with 4 of the more reliable plugs instead of just 2.


5 of 6 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Quality Product

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 12/16/2010 from LAUREL, MD UNITED STATES
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Not much to say about it...it's a great addition to the Apex controller system for those that have the need for more controllable outlets than ones given on the main units energybar. The price is a bit steep, perhaps $25 less would have made it a 5 star rating, but good quality all the same. Also, the USB cable could have been a bit longer, perhaps 12 ft to ensure mounting options and distance from main unit could extend past 6 ft for those with larger tanks or limited room.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Neptune Systems Energy Bar 8 E

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/29/2010 from Salt Lake City, UT UNITED STAT
5.0 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: Great unit... the Neptune is the best thing I have used..


0 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page
Neptune Systems Energy Bar 8 Expansion Unit (EB8) Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Neptune Systems Energy Bar 8 Expansion Unit (EB8)

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Petstore 14271 Corporate Drive Garden Grove, CA 92843 Telephone: 1-888-9-WEBPETS E-Mail: [email protected]
Follow us:
FaceBook Twitter Pinterest